The journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitrij Muratov were jointly awarded
“for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression, which is a precondition for democracy and lasting peace”.
A minute of silence for the journalists who have lost their lives because of their profession. A creation, the outer structure of which consists of 22 shapes, each representing one year, counting from 2000 until 2021. Each shape is printed with the year and with the statistics of the number of journalists, citizen journalists and media assistants killed each year. The statistics come from the press freedom barometer provided by Reporters Without Borders.
Censorship and restrictions on freedom of the press sadly prevent us knowing about all the individual stories. As such, the black slip is to reflect the unreported deaths of journalists not included in the barometer.